One down

One month that is. We recently hit our one month mark into this deployment.

Me: YAHH!!!

Brain: Wait, what? Yah? Uhhh, you still have 6 more months to go little lady.

Me: Shut it.

My brain is always trying to remind me of the logical things, like that we have so much more time to go until we are a family again. Stupid. But, my heart of hearts likes to think of the glass half full. Or, 1/7th full? Whatever. I’m thinking on the positive side.

Let’s recap all the amazing awesomeness that I have been able to accomplish sans husband for the past month:

  1. I have gotten through my number one in my rule of three’s (ETA: We still don’t know what is wrong with that stinking (shh, don’t tell her I said that) car. Even the mechanics don’t know. But they’d like to start figuring it out after I pay them a mere $1400. Yah, that’s not happening).
  2. I have mowed the lawn. By myself. THREE TIMES- This is huge for me. I haven’t touched a lawn mower ever in my life, much less one that doesn’t even have a motor. This was one thing that seriously made me really consider moving back in with my parents. But I did it!
  3. Baby- ‘nough said.
  4. I have made dinner just for me (aka not eating cereal every.single.night)
  5. I have showeredalmostevery day.
  6.  I have been consistently working out- Not only do I run almost every day, I’ve also started doing yoga and going to a spin class (thanks to my ah-maze-ing neighbor who watches baby Evelyn). This is more than I did when James was home and I had an extra set of hands. Alessandra Ambrosio keeps eyeing me in that VS magazine so its pretty good motivation.
  7. Fixed the kitchen table chairs- Oh, mom. When we first moved, my mom graciously put together our kitchen table and chairs for us. The only problem is that she put the seats on backwards so every time you sat down you felt like you were sliding off. I finally fixed them. Over a year later.
  8. BLOG- What would you guys do without me?

I have been able to do so much more than I thought I would. I thought I’d be a blubering pile of goo still, which some days I have. And yes, we still have 6 more months to get through. Six long, hard, lonely months. But with the first month down I at least know I can do it. Of course I miss James and I think to myself how badly I need him here (like when my mommy brain decides I have thrush and I need to check Evelyn’s mouth for white spots RIGHT NOW but I can’t see so I go to look for the flashlight and I can’t find it and I can’t call him to find out where he put it and all I can think is, “WHERE IS THE DAMN FLASHLIGHT?!”). And there are times when I think that I just can’t do it anymore, like when I’m alone in our bed or when a sad song (ok, really- any somewhat slow song. I pretty much lose it) comes on the radio. But what choice do I have? I will keep going because he needs me to.

Yea, we have a long way to go. But at the end of the day, I know we are one day closer to being together again. And that’s all that really matters.

PS- James…by the way, babe, where is the flashlight…?

Leave a Reply

