Never Alone

I’m back! I know, tears of joy. Grab the tissue box you used while I was gone. Empty? Figures.

I will be posting shortly about my visit with Nana-Banana and everything else going on in my barefoot world but right now I wanted to take the opportunity to remember some of our fallen.

Last night, seven Marines with 3rd Marine Aircraft Wing died when a Cobra and a Huey crashed into one another during a training exercise in Yuma, Arizona. Six of the Marines were stationed at MCB/MCAS Camp Pendleton, and one of the Marines was stationed at MCAS Miramar.

As a spouse of military personnel, you are used to training exercises. Hell, you are used to deployments. But exercises are different- you really have no fear of losing a loved one. They are in a safe environment. You figure you will see them in a few days, a few weeks, or a month. You don’t worry like they do when they are deployed. You aren’t watching the news and waiting next to the telephone. They’re gone, yes, but its different.

The poor families of these seven men never expected the news they received today. I can’t imagine being hit with such devastating and heartbreaking news. Its awful and unreal..

I don’t know if any of the Marine’s families read my blog. But if they do, or a friend of theirs does, I want to share a song that I hope will help them find some peace.

My thoughts and prayers are with these families. I am so very, deeply sorry for your loss.

EDIT: In the original post it was written that all 7 of the Marines were stationed at Camp Pendleton. The error has been corrected to: 6 of the 7 Marines were stationed at Camp Pendleton. One was stationed at Miramar. I apologize for the error.

One thought on “Never Alone

  1. Pingback: Whoahhhh, we’re halfway there… | Barefoot and Boots

Leave a Reply

