Nana Banana

That’s my mom. No, she’s not a banana. And she’s not Asian. Nope, she’s not even an Asian banana. But she is awesome. (PS- Don’t look up “asian banana” on Google images. You will get some disturbing results).

My mom is now the proud grandmother of 5 granddaughters, with Evelyn being the most recent addition (apparently God thought it we all needed a little test in patience come teenage years. Blame the husbands, its their fault its all girls). And she spoils every.single.one.of.them. They know it too. They know that at Nana’s house they will be making cookies, watching movies and shows, and having make-overs. They will go to the pool, and Nana will tell them witch stories and play pretend with them. And this is all just during Nana’s Camp.

Yep, that’s right, my mom is so awesome that each summer she runs a “camp” for the granddaughters. They spend one week with Nana (i.e., their parents get one week kid(s) free!) and they do all sorts of fun and awesome things together like all the above mentioned stuff plus MORE.

AD: To sign your child up for Nana’s Camp, please call 1-800-ASK-YOUR-OWN-NANA. She’s ours.

But this past weekend Evelyn (and by Evelyn I mean me) was lucky enough to have Nana all to herself. I was a little nervous because E has been having some stranger anxiety but she obviously knew that Nana was amazing because she barely fussed with her. Which was great for several reasons: 1. I could leave her with Nana to sleep, 2. I could leave her with Nana to shower, 3. I could leave her with Nana to sleep and shower. But not at the same time. That would be weird.

As always, we had a great time together. We went shopping and Nana spoiled both of us girls to death. We walked to the Harbor and saw seals and large pelicans up close. We took Evelyn to the beach for the first time. We played at the playground together. We went to lunch and to get coffee together. It was a great girls weekend.

Here are some of the highlights from Nana’s visit:

  • She laughed at me and my make-shift hands-free pumping bra which is simply a sports bra with two holes cut out where the boobs are so I can stick the pump flanges in there and not have to hold them. Klassy.
  • She got to hear Evelyn laugh.
  • I showed her how to make Evelyn fart.

But most of all, it was a great mother-daughter weekend. My mom listened to me while I vented/complained/changed my mind over and over again about what was going on with E’s sleeping habits. She listened to me whine about James being gone. She helped me with a Valentine’s Day Party I threw for the spouses of the deployed (biggest help EVER. I honestly could not have pulled off that night without her. She did E’s bathtime routine and helped cooked dinner and basically cleaned everything up. Thanks, Mom!). She was there, keeping me company and being a listening ear that I haven’t had in a long time. And that’s really all I needed. I didn’t need the toys or cloth diapers for Evelyn or the clothes and food for me. I just needed my mom, and as always, she was there for me.

Mom, you are so great. I don’t think I could honestly put into words how much you mean to me. You are so generous, kind, and selfless. You always put others before you, whether its in your home life or your work. You show us you love us continuously and you are ALWAYS there for us. And now that I have a daughter of my own I can only hope that my relationship with her is as good as it is with you. Thank you for everything, Mom- everything you are and everything you do.  I love you!

Here are a few pictures from the awesome weekend with Nana-banana:

Leave a Reply

