I’m crunchy like organic granola

I never thought I’d be the hippie mom. I always thought I’d use disposable diapers, that I would be totally ok with my child crying it out, that I would feed her from store bought purees. But no, no, and no. I don’t do any of that.

Moms like myself are known as “crunchy.” You know, like granola. Because apparently hippies ate (eat?) alot of granola. However, I’m not super crunchy. I’m more like crunchy peanut butter crunchy- mix of hippie with a smooth blend of regular type of mom.

Crunchy Mom

We cloth diaper. And by we I mean me. And that isn’t just because James is gone. That’s because I’m pretty sure he won’t want to touch a poopy diaper that can’t just be thrown away. I think cloth diapering is the first all important step into crunchiness. Seriously, you aren’t a crunchy mama if you are still using ‘sposies (that’s the hippie term for disposables diapers). I have just started this journey into cloth diaper-hood and I plan to bring you along with me as I leave a trail of poop behind me instead of non-biodegradable diapers- meaning that I will be doing a cloth diaper review. Eventually. Woop, woop!

I can’t let her CIO (cry it out). I went into parenthood totally thinking that I would be able to let Evelyn cry during sleep training. Psh, in my life as a nanny I’ve let other kids cry it out. But nope, can’t do it with E. I feel too bad. I feel cruel. I know other moms do it with much success but I just can’t bring myself to do the same. I’m too mushy.

We are doing Baby Led Weaning and skipping purees. Ahh, this has even sparked some debate with our pediatrician who, by the way, told me that I should feed E rice cereal at night to “trick her belly” (her words, not mine) into being full so that she’ll sleep through the night. Say whaaa? I don’t think so Mrs. Old School. My baby is hungry at night, I’m going to feed her. But I digress- BLW is a form of introducing solids in which you skip traditional pureed “baby” foods entirely. Instead, starting at 6 months (this is critical- babies really shouldn’t have anything but breastmilk or formula for the first 6 months- their little bellies aren’t able to handle solids before then), you give your child…wait for it…actual food. Like chunks of whatever you’re eating. Again, I will be doing a review of BLW in a few weeks once we start. Lucky for my parents, I will be back home when we start. And its messy. My dad loves messes. This should be awesome.

I make my own cleaning products. Again, this is something I am just starting so there will be a post later on about how that all is going. We’ll see if my homemade stuff is as good as the store bought.

E wears an amber teething necklace.I’m pretty sure the first time I saw a child wearing this necklace I thought the parent was crazy. Red blinking lights were flashing, sirens were going off- it was like a dramatic scene from “ER” (too old of a reference? “Grey’s Anatomy” better for everyone?). All I could think was CHOKING HAZARD!!!!!!!! But alas, now E wears one. These necklaces are magical. No, they are not for the child to chew on to help with teething. They are little baby necklaces made from amber. When the amber is warmed by the body heat, it lets off a resin that goes into the skin and soothes the aches from teething. Yup, that’s about as crunchy as you can get.

Smooth Mom

We do not bedshare. I mean, I’m not all “sleeping with your baby is as dangerous as the baby sleeping with a butcher’s knife” crazy.

We still don’t really feel comfortable doing it more because we want E and the rest of our children to sleep in their own rooms. Mommy and daddy’s bed are for mommy and daddy. And the dog. How can we ever make a sibling for E if she’s always in our bed? I mean, it would probably help if James was here but he will be eventually and then its on (Sorry, family, just try and scrub that mental image from your mind).

I do not “wear” E. Now, I do use a BabyHawk for when we’re at the store or taking a walk. But I don’t wear her all the time like other crunchy moms. I’m all for developing some independence and I don’t think that a child being constantly attached to me helps with forming that independence.I know others in the Attachment Parenting world will disagree (Mayim Bialik) but hey, its just not for us.

I don’t use all organic food or products. I buy whatever is cheapest quite honestly, which organic is usually not. The commissary has like a quarter of an aisle with organic products and no organic produce or meat to speak of. I love me some Whole Foods but the closest one is 13 miles away. And that’s just not environmentally friendly, now is it (or, in Republican terms (i.e., my terms)- forget carbon emissions, there is no way in h3ll I’m driving 13 miles to a grocery store because gas is way too expensive. Bonus if its good for the environment). And I still use Johnson & Johnson. I know, I’m a monster.

I still use ‘sposies. *GASP* I know, how could I? Well, mostly because I’m not quite comfortable yet with using cloth overnight. And I don’t really have that many cloth diapers yet. And we have a crap ton of disposables still. So I don’t want to waste and I might as well use them while E still fits into them as I build up my cloth diaper stash. They are good for travel too because a crappy cloth diaper on the go is just kind of…well, crappy.

What can I say, I’m just a good blend of smooth and crunchy. Jif would be proud. And I have to give some props (because apparently I’m a gansta’ like that) to my friend H. Her husband is no longer in the Corps but she used to live right down the street from me and she was one of the first to find out we were pregnant. She, along with her little boy, introduced me into the world of crunchiness including cloth diapering, the amber teething necklace, and the BabyHawk. So without her I would still be buying diapers every week, E would be getting Tylenol every time she fussed over her teeth, and my arms would be as big as the Hulk from carrying E all the time. So thanks H, for a glimpse into your crunchy world. Without you I’d still be boring old smooth.

Here is my crunchy baby creation in her adorable cloth diaper:

2 thoughts on “I’m crunchy like organic granola

  1. Pingback: Mo’ money, mo’ problems | Barefoot and Boots

  2. Pingback: Whoahhhh, we’re halfway there… | Barefoot and Boots

Leave a Reply

