Part of Me

It is fully disclosed in our marriage that I have two girl crushes: Carrie Underwood and Katy Perry. Polar opposites but what can I say? I love them. I love their music, their femininity, their talent…everything. We could be BFFs.

With that being said, one of my unit wife friends recently posted Katy Perry’s new music video for her song “Part of Me” on Facebook. Of course I was intrigued simply because I saw the words “Katy” and “Perry” but then I read her description of the video: “This video was shot on the base where I live, with our Marines!”

What? I’ve heard this song on the radio and its a typical break up song. You know, you broke my heart, you suck, but I’m better than this and I’m going to become this all-powerful woman. And what better way to portray this than her becoming…wait for it…a MARINE. So cool.

Apparently this video is creating a lot of buzz here in the media (yea, I’m a part of the media. Cool and trendy blogger = media). In an interview with MTV, Katy said that the video depicts “affirmation of strength.” Instead of showing a girl wandering aimlessly through the woods as she contemplates her heartbreak or some chick dancing half-naked in a club drinking herself into a stupor in order to forget, Katy shows girls that they can be strong despite the hurt. They can become the strongest thing on the planet: A United States Marine.

These are the kinds of role models I want E to look up to. The performers that show this kind of “affirmation of strength.” I mean, I don’t want E to come to me and say, “Hey mom, I want blue hair like Katy Perry,” but I’d much rather her see videos of strong women versus a drunk chick in a club.

I guess these are the kinds of things I have to think about now. Who are the role models I want my child(ren) to be looking up to? How am I going to help her/them understand who a good role model is and who isn’t?

It is scary to realize that James and I are responsible for all of this. I know with God’s guidance we will be able to form a strong sense of self-respect and self-worth in E and all our kids, but there is so much outside factors that can influence her that we really have no control over (although I will try). I hate to think of all the terrible things she will experience and see in the world as she grows up. But I also hope that she can look past the bad and see all the good, strong women and follow their lead.

Ok, ok, I know I got all mushy and blabbly. Here is Katy Perry’s video, “A Part of Me”

Leave a Reply

