Homefront United Network

The life of a military family can be daunting. There are so many things to learn when you’re new to this life: acronyms, how chain of command works, what the different insignia on their uniform means, when they wear certain uniforms, how to do your taxes if your spouse was deployed during the year, what Tricare covers and doesn’t cover, that you have to drive the speed limit on base- the list goes on. And then there are the things you have to learn even as a seasoned “vet”: where the commissary, PX, and closest doctors are every.single.time. you move, how your spouse’s new unit works and runs, who is the best for information pertaining to the unit, base, or surrounding areas- again, the list goes on.

Thankfully, there are several resources in which military spouses and their families can obtain this kind of information and find support for the hardships of the military life. One of those resources is the Homefront United Network (HUN).

HUN is a community in which military families can find a positive place to laugh, cry, vent, learn, and discuss all things pertaining to military lives- and more. It was founded by Angela Caban, a Army Reservist wife, while going through her husband’s deployment in 2008. After her husband left, she was hard-pressed to find resources or support from other military families. Wishing that no other family goes through this, she founded HUN within a year.

I first became aware of this community through a fellow Marine wife. She is a blogger and when I started Barefoot and Boots, I became an avid reader of her blog. She frequently mentioned HUN and out of curiosity I ventured over to their site. I was amazed by the immense amount of resources and support that families could find from this organization. I eventually decided that I would love to be a part of the HUN family, and I filed an application.

I am proud to say that I have officially become a contributing writer to this wonderful community. Like Angela and all the other writers and bloggers on HUN, I hope to be able to spread some hope, joy, and comfort to those of us in the military or with family members in the military. I’m so grateful and excited to begin my journey with them and I am thrilled to be a part of the HUN team.

Please continue to check my blog as I will post my articles on here when they are published with HUN. Don’t forget to check out the website as well, and subscribe to receive the articles from the other wonderful team members!

2 thoughts on “Homefront United Network

  1. Pingback: Whoahhhh, we’re halfway there… | Barefoot and Boots

  2. Pingback: Apparently I am a stirrer of pots. | Barefoot and Boots

Leave a Reply

