Like LMFAO, I work out. Or maybe I’ll just sing about it.

A few months ago, I was sitting on my couch eating chocolate-syrup covered cookie dough with a spoon, dreaming about how in 7 months I was going to look like Alessandra Ambrosio by the time J gets home. I had so many well-laid plans to get myself looking like that hottie with a body. I was going to run with my mom’s group, go to a yoga class, do mommy and me DVDs at home, go to spin class….I was well on my way to being Alessandra’s twin. Just call me Gisele.

For awhile there I was doing great. We were running every Friday and I was even running on days OTHER THAN FRIDAYS. That’s huge for me. We were walking every.single.day, at least a mile but usually more. We contacted the yoga teacher and changed our mom’s group days so we could go. I was attending spin class every week. And then the unthinkable happened…

I got lazy.

Ok, well, that’s not entirely true. Just mostly. We stopped running together on Fridays because gas prices shot through heaven’s roof (even God was like, WTH is this?) and the drive to the track is far. Then the yoga didn’t pan out because frankly, it was during Evelyn’s first nap time and I wasn’t willing to put her through the torture of staying awake and missing that nap (read as: there was no way in hell I was letting her miss that nap because otherwise she is a hot mess and I don’t want to deal with that crabbypants). And I’m too cheap to buy  DVDs. BUT I was going to spin class thanks to my ah-mazing neighbor but due to some unforeseen circumstances (no, really, these were actually unforeseen), I missed quite a few in a row.

Yes, I could have continued to run on my own. And I could have done the 8 workout DVDs I already have at home while Evelyn was napping. And in my mind I thought to myself, “Eh, I have x many months left, its totally fine. I’ll workout. Soon. Eventually. At least before he gets home.”

But now here we are, in the middle of April and there isn’t that much time left. I mean, we still have a ways to go before J gets home but not enough to do the total body transformation I was hoping to do before he arrives. I’ve found this to be pretty typical of military wives though: We have all these great and awesome plans of how we are going to change things while they’re gone whether it be getting sexified like all those chicks you see pinned on Pinterest, organizing every closet to look like the ones on Pinterest, redoing every room to look like the ones on Pinterest, create and try 198923487 new recipes that we have pinned on Pinterest….the list goes on and on. But before we know it, we realize that we only have a month left and we’re scrambling to lose those 10 pounds and redo/organize/clean the whole dang house before they get home.

Luckily, I’m not there yet. I still have enough time to kick my larger-than-I’d-like-it-to-be butt into gear. And because its what I do, I have a plan:

  • Run/Elliptical- No seriously, I’m doing it. For a few weeks I have access to a treadmill and elliptical so I’m planning on using that to get myself into a routine.
  • Continue spin- I actually really like the spin class I attend. Except when we have a sub because last time she kicked my azz. So I will continue to do that as well.
  • Yoga- I honestly have always enjoyed yoga. They give a class at the gym on base but they don’t have daycare so its going to be home DVDs for now. I don’t like lifting so this is a great way for me to get toned.

Oh don’t worry, my planning doesn’t stop there. Much like my house chores, everything will have its own day:

  • Running/Elliptical-  Wednesdays and Fridays
  • Spin- Mondays
  • Yoga- Tuesdays and Thursdays

I have a written and well-coordinated plan. Will I be able to execute? With the motivation of the latest Victoria’s Secret catalog and God on my side, I think I can do it. I want to do it. I want to be back to the fit wife that I was before I schelped on 50 pounds to carry my baby. Granted 40 of those pounds were gone before J left, but the jiggle is all still there. So here I go, on my way back to my pre-baby bod. Right after I finish this bowl of ice cream…

One thought on “Like LMFAO, I work out. Or maybe I’ll just sing about it.

  1. Pingback: Let’s Get Physical, Physical! | Barefoot and Boots

Leave a Reply

