Happy Memorial Day

As the wife of a Marine and the sister of a Soldier, today is a little different. Its a day to remember our fallen and a day to thank those who have put their lives on the line to serve. I am so proud to be a Marine Corps wife, a Soldier’s sister, and a Sailor’s and Soldier’s grandaugther.

Then this morning I woke up thinking that to most Americans today would be a day off of work and a day to have a BBQ. National BBQ Day if you will. But as I looked on my Facebook I was amazed to see how many people recognized that today was an important holiday. They remembered why they had the day off.  J sent me this picture a few days ago and I think it speaks volumes to the sacrifices our armed services have made, and the pride many of us have for being American:

So if you happen to see a yellow sticker on a car, a yellow ribbon on a tree, someone with an armed services hat, t-shirt, etc. give them a little nod. Maybe they themselves served, maybe they know someone who serves, or maybe they lost someone who served.

I leave you today with the words of one of my friends: “Our thought’s and Prayers go out to ALL the Gold Star Families NOT only today, BUT everyday. ‘Greater love has no man than this, than to lay down his life for his friends’ John 15:13”

NOW GO ENJOY THAT BBQ!

Leave a Reply

