To Honor the Fallen

It has been a hard week for the United States Marine Corps. We have lost ten service members while they were stateside. Seven were killed in a training accident involving a mortar, and three were killed in a murder-suicide.

There is not much I can say to relate to the friends and families that have lost their dear loved ones. I have not experienced anything remotely close to what they are experiencing. I am terribly saddened for them.

The news of these Marines’ deaths brings back the feelings I had when I heard of helicopter accident in Yuma, Arizona last year. We lost 7 men that night, and all I could think about was the families who were receiving those CACO Marines at their door thinking, “No, you have the wrong house. He’s home. It can’t be him.”

I think most military spouses feel the same way I do when I hear about the death of a service member- although you may not know the family, you feel an odd closeness to them. You feel as if you know them. You want to cry with them, hug them, and let you know you are there to support them because you know it could be you in their shoes. You literally buckle at the knees at the thought of hearing the gunshots and song at their military funeral. You hurt for them because you are just like them.

However, in reading the news about the recent tragedies the USMC has experienced over the last week, it dawned on me that even though this is a horrible tragedy, why aren’t we giving equal recognition to those service members that are dying overseas? When the war started TEN YEARS AGO it was news when service members were killed. Nowadays, however, you only hear more if you live in the local area of a KIA. On a national level, you may hear that x number of service members were killed, but then they move on to Lindsey Lohan’s latest DUI.

I guess that’s the way of the world though. Unless you are military or have a loved one in the military, these losses aren’t nearly as important as other trending news. It’s not right, and I don’t think it does justice to any of the service members who signed their name on that dotted line or their families.

I can’t change what the news puts out there. But I can do something to honor the fallen, even if it is through my little blog that only a few people see. I have decided that each Monday I will scour the news for the names of those killed in action or reported as POWs for that past week, and list them on my blog. It’s not much, but it’s my way of honoring those who sacrificed it all. Maybe, hopefully, one day I won’t have anyone’s names to write.

To Honor the Fallen

March 18, 2013- Hawthorne, Nevada

Aaron Ripperda, 26, USMC

Lance Cpl. Josh Taylor, 21, USMC

Robert Muchnick, 23, USMC

Pfc. Josh Martino, 19, USMC

Lance Cpl. William Tyler Wild, IV, 21, USMC

Lance Cpl. David Fenn, 20, USMC

Lance Cpl. Mason Vanderwork, 21, USMC

March 22, 2013- Quantico, VA

Cpl. Jacob Wooley, 23, USMC

Lance Cpl. Sara Castromata, 19, USMC

Sgt. Eusebio Lopez, 25, USMC

March 21, 2013- Afghanistan

Sgt. 1st Class James Floyd Grissom, 31, US Special Forces

Please leave a comment to honor the fallen. Any comments that are disrespectful will be removed at my discrestion. Please email me at barefootandboots at gmail dot com if I have missed a fallen service member for the week, or if you would like me to add a service member that was KIA or POW previously. Thank you.

3 thoughts on “To Honor the Fallen

  1. Our Heat Isi Broken Although I Did Not Know Him Personally My Wife And I Are Grieving This young Warrior SFC Grissom Is My wives nephew..\We hurt For All These Great People May God Bring Comfort To There Families Thank Yoy Jack Hudspeth Bakersfield Calif

Leave a Reply

