Miley Cyrus reminded me what I need to make a baby

A foam finger. DUH.

Ugh. No, Miley…just. No.

And that was one of the tamer photos. Because this is a family-friendly blog ya’ll. Ain’t nobody got time for that sh*t.

Now that Hannah Montana has successfully ruined all the dreams of those parents that thought, “What a good role model for our child!” we are going to move on to more important things- me and baby making. Sans the foam finger. Sorry J.

Today I had my first visit with a reproductive endocronologist (RE). An RE is a big, fancy term for someone who knows all about reproductivity (but not like those cheesy 80s movies you watched in middle school…more legit expert) so you can baby make like the best of them.

Mrs. Duggar must have known about the foam finger.

Let’s first explain my ordeal to simply get to this appointment. I want to have it on record so any future children can feel guilty straight out of the womb.

First I had to drive the hour north to my parents house the night before because this “special” appointment is over 2 hours away from  where I live. And that’s without traffic. My appointment right smack dab in the middle of rush hour, so it would take me FOR.EV.ER to get there. A toddler in the car who *just* gave up her pacis while in the carseat and got woken up 2 hours early AND traffic of any kind is not good. So off to Nana’s house we went so she could watch E while I ventured on out to this appointment.

I decided to take the train to the hospital instead of drive because, again, traffic. So I got up at 545am to shower and get to the train station. With Starbucks in hand (of course), I took the hour and a half hour commute to the hospital. The train ride was ok except that I got motion sickness. But it was a hell of alot better sitting in bumper to bumper traffic.

FINALLY I was at the hospital, checked-in, and sitting down with my new doctor, Dr. C. She was pretty awesome. She listened to me while I vented about my frustration with my other doctors, the losses, and how I just wanted to do whatever I could to help me have a successful next pregnancy. She gave me a plan, and anyone who knows me knows I like to have a plan. So here it is:

  1. Immediatley- Today we checked my betas to make sure they were going down appropriately. Hopefully they are, so we will see in a few days.
  2. September- Once my cycle returns, I will go in for hormonal testing for PCOS, lipid panel, and FSH/LH/Estradiol/Prolactin/TSH on cycle day 3. I will also go in on cycle day 21-23 for progesterone testing.
  3. October- Once my second cycle comes I will make an appointment to do a saline sonogram to check and see if I have any septum in my uterus that is blocking a baby from getting the proper amount of blood flow. I will also do a repeat of the RPL testing, because apparently I wasn’t supposed to do that with HCG in my system even though my prior doctor told me I could. UGH.

Before I had my D&C I heard back from my original doctor about all the RPL testing that I got done that I shouldn’t have, and she told me everything came back normal except that I had a gene defect- MTHFR C6227. Or the motherf***er gene as I like to call it. I am on the “good” side of this gene defect in that mine is heterozygous. It basically means that I don’t metabolize folate well and I need an extra boost of that stuff. Right now I’m taking my regular prenatals, as well as vitamin B6 and eating a natural derivative of folic acid each day like spinach or quinoa.

Right now we are on hold to try and conceive  until about November. Dr. C wants me to go through 2 regular cycles so we can check on everything that needs checking, and make sure we are doing everything we can. Things that I may need to take in the future if they can’t find anything wrong (which happens about 70% of the time) are:

  • Baby aspirin- this helps with clotting disorders, if I have any. The tests in September will help to determine if I do, but she said that some people still take it “just in case” even if they don’t have any known disorders.
  • Extra folate- to make sure that the baby is getting what he/she needs through development.
  • Progesterone- if my levels come back low, she will put me on progesterone suppositories until about 8 weeks when/if I get pregnant. I already have a prescription from my original doc but Dr. C *kind of* alluded to the fact that she shouldn’t have prescribed that willy-nilly.

Its a lot of info, I know. But if you are going through something similar, maybe this will help give you an idea of what you should be listening to your RE or OB mention when you’re discussing the next steps.

I’m just glad that I now have a plan of attack. A plan of attack on my uterus.

 

11 thoughts on “Miley Cyrus reminded me what I need to make a baby

  1. I went through the same two month cycle of testing before Chloe. I also had the Hcg, which was not fun. It took us two years to conceive at all. My doctors never found anything huge that was causing my issues. But then one day, boom, I was pregnant naturally. I had a very healthy, normal pregnancy. Good Luck and it can and *will* happen1

    • Thanks, Rebecca. I guess the hardest part for us is that we already had one healthy pregnancy. So this was totally unexpected for us. I’m confident we will find answers but the waiting game blows…

  2. You actually need a broken down form of the Folate – regular Folic acid your body cant break down. MetanX was a great one I was on, but they quit covering it. Fabb is one that is covered, but there are a few others too. Also if your RE is willing (or believes) to test for DQ Alpha/HLA or NKa+ I would request it, a few thousand dollars worth of test, but thankfully tricare also covers – id do it while they are still willing to cover!!

  3. Also I would ask about the use of Lovenox – depends on the RE, some will Rx with the MTHFR some wont. I had a doc that thought the risk of using Lovenox were to high, even after I begged for it … well lost a pregnancy due to his stupidness, so out he went. Both my doctors I have now only believe it can only help, cant hurt (just dont go using a power saw and cutting a limb off) – so I would ask about that as well.

    • Thanks, Em! Your thoughts are always appreciated. I have discussed using a broken down form of folic acid for me, and we have talked about the use of Lovenox. I’m awaiting some test results back but thank you for your help!

  4. I hope that this doctor is able to help you! Thanks for sharing what your experience is like – it helps me better-understand what some of my friends have experienced.

  5. Oh my gosh that sounds exhausting!! I’m not trying to beat a dead horse but be sure to ask your doctor about L-methylfolate. Women with the MTHFR polymorphism have a limited ability to break down synthetic folic acid. Metanx and NeevoDHA have active L-methylfolate, which bypasses the MTHFR mutation. I’m sorry you have to work so hard at all this. I will cross my fingers for you.

Leave a Reply

